Employee Spotlight: Jack Hendrickson

Share:

STATS

  • Name: Jack Hendrickson
  • Title: Business Development Manager
  • Branch: White Marsh, MD Landscape Management Branch
  • Ruppert Tenure: 10 years

Pictured right: Jack in Italy

Q&A

  • Briefly describe what you do all day (at work). Maintain relationships with customers and colleagues as well as build new relationships with prospective customers.
  • What’s the best thing about your job? Meeting interesting people through our community, building relationships, and helping them with their vision of their company.
  • What’s your favorite thing about the company? Being a large company but having a small company feel.
  • What’s your favorite memory at Ruppert? My first Management Development Day (MDD). Once a year, all managers come together throughout the entire company and receive training as well as build relationships with new peoplein the company.
  • What would you do (for a career) if you weren’t doing this? I would be a Physical Education teacher.
  • What’s the coolest thing you’re working on right now? We recently became partners with the Aberdeen IronBirds as their landscape maintenance providers.
  • Who has been your greatest mentor and why? My mom, who always pushes me to work hard and not to give up.
  • What are five words (or less) of advice for others in your profession? Flexibility, patience, active listening, humor.
  • How do you define success? I define success as meeting my personal and professional goals, being happy and having good work and home-life balance.
  • What’s the last book you read? Never Split the Difference by Chris Voss
  • What’s your favorite movie and why? Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls because it is hilarious, and he always knows what to say.
  • Tell us something that might surprise us about you. I’m currently training to run a marathon.
  • What are you passionate about? Sports, family, keeping healthy.
  • If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do? Invest and buy a house in Florida on the water.
  • How do you balance your career and family? I try not to take work home and make goals throughout the day to reach before I leave.
  • How do you like to spend your free time? Running, working out, spending time with my wife.
  • Do you have any hobbies? Golf, disc golf, working out.
  • What is your favorite family tradition? Making homemade pizzas for Christmas Eve with family.
  • What’s your favorite indoor/outdoor activity? Watching movies and series.
  • If you could learn to do anything, what would it be? Speak fluent Spanish.
  • Where is the best place you’ve traveled to and why? Italy. There is a lot to see and experience.  Also, the cuisine is fantastic!
  • What three traits define you? Friendly, competitive, caring.
  • What would you most like to tell yourself at age 13? Don’t fret on the small things, because as long as you have a positive attitude, things seem to work out for the best.
  • If you could be any animal, which would you be and why? Bald eagle, because I could fly and…AMERICA!